8 Best Home Tuition Agencies for Primary School Students
Tutor City is the strongest starting point for most Singapore parents seeking one-to-one primary school tuition. It publishes level-by-level hourly rates, lets families browse tutor profiles themselves, and has no contract requiring a fixed number of lessons.
The other seven agencies on this list cover similar ground, but they differ in how they present tutor credentials, structure their commission, and handle a change of tutor.
Every agency here is a matching service. It connects a family with a freelance home tutor, and the tutor then teaches at home or online. Tuition centres such as Mind Stretcher run their own classes, so they appear later as an alternative.
Home tuition in Singapore for a Primary 5 or 6 child can run past $1,000 a month once two subjects are involved. Small differences in agency terms therefore add up. The guide below helps parents set a realistic hourly budget, read the “free matching” fine print, and decide when group classes make more sense than tuition at home.
Eight Agencies to Consider for Primary School Home Tuition
These eight agencies all match primary pupils with private tutors. They differ mainly in profile transparency, rate guides and payment terms. Rates and response times change often, so parents should treat the figures below as a snapshot taken in October 2026.
| Agency | Primary rate guide (part-time to teacher) | Parent can browse profiles | Stated commission |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tutor City | $30–$90/h | Yes | 50% of first month |
| SmileTutor | $25–$85/h | Yes | ~50% of first month + GST |
| MindFlex | $25–$80/h | Profiles sent | First 2 weeks + 9% GST |
| FamilyTutor | $25–$90/h | Profiles sent | 50%–62.5% of first 4 weeks |
| TutorNow | $30–$75/h | Profiles sent | Not stated |
| Start Tuition | $25–$80/h | Profiles sent | Not stated |
1. Tutor City
Tutor City suits parents who want to shortlist tutors themselves before speaking to a coordinator. The agency reports 40,000+ successful matches since 2010 and says it sends tutor profiles within 24 hours of a request.
Each match comes with a short learning brief and a progress note after the fourth lesson, which gives parents an early checkpoint. Tutors upload certificates or present originals at the first lesson. Families can end tuition at any time and pay only for lessons taught.
2. SmileTutor
SmileTutor fits families who want a clear split of rates between lower and upper primary. Its primary school rate table lists $25–$35 an hour for part-time tutors at P1 to P3, rising to $60–$85 for school teachers at P4 to P6.
The agency grades tutors with its own Quality Score system. It reminds current school teachers to bring their teacher’s pass to the first lesson. Parents pay the commission plus 9% GST to SmileTutor after the early lessons, then pay the tutor directly.
3. MindFlex
MindFlex Home Tuition appeals to parents who want a trial arrangement spelled out in writing. The agency claims 60,000+ active tutors and a target turnaround under six hours for a list of profiles.
Its rate guide separates Primary 1–4 ($25–$80 band, depending on tutor type) from Primary 5–6. For ex or current MOE teachers, MindFlex says it recommends only NIE-trained educators who can commit for at least three months.
4. ChampionTutor
ChampionTutor is a long-running Singapore agency with a database that draws on undergraduates and experienced MOE teachers. It offers a free matching service with online and in-person options, and is often used for PSLE preparation.
ChampionTutor’s own terms and rate guide were not part of the material reviewed here. Parents should ask its coordinators for the commission structure, trial-lesson charge and replacement policy in writing before the first lesson.
5. FamilyTutor
FamilyTutor suits parents who want a detailed tutor profile showing experience, qualifications and grades. Its primary tuition page groups tutors into MOE/NIE-certified teachers, full-time tutors and part-time tutors.
The agency’s published primary rates run from $25–$30 an hour for part-time tutors at P1 to P3 up to $75–$90 for NIE-trained teachers at P4 to P6. FamilyTutor collects fees through the agency in most cases, so payment runs through it longer than at some rivals.
6. Yes Tuition
Yes Tuition matches tutors across Primary, Secondary, JC and IB levels, with primary support covering English, Mathematics, Science and Mother Tongue. Its primary school tuition page stresses tutors who follow the school syllabus and assess each child’s strengths and weaknesses.
Its own 2026 rate guide puts primary home tuition at $25–$40 an hour for part-time tutors and $50–$80 for ex-MOE or experienced tutors. Commission terms are not published alongside it, so parents should request them in writing.
7. TutorNow
TutorNow is one of the older names in the market. The agency describes itself as operating for over two decades and matching more than 30,000 students, with no agency fees or contracts for parents.
Its rate guide lists lower primary at $30–$35 an hour for part-time tutors and upper primary school teachers at $70–$75. Office hours run on weekdays and Saturdays, which matters for parents who prefer to call.
8. Start Tuition
Start Tuition works well for parents who want to see recent, real assignments before requesting. The agency has matched tutors since 2013 and draws on more than 15,000 teachers, ex-teachers and tutors for primary pupils.
It covers Foundation and Standard tracks, Higher Mother Tongue, Phonics and Creative Writing. Coordinators interview shortlisted tutors before sending profiles, and each profile includes the tutor’s exact hourly rate.
How Much Does Primary School Home Tuition Cost?

Primary home tuition in Singapore costs roughly $25 to $90 an hour, with tutor type driving most of the gap. Upper primary rates sit about $5 to $15 above lower primary across most agencies, and the agency’s first-month commission affects who gets paid when.
How Do Rates Differ for Part-Time Tutors, Full-Time Tutors and MOE Teachers?
Part-time tutors are mostly undergraduates or working adults and charge the least. Full-time tutors teach as their main job and sit in the middle. Ex or current MOE teachers, who are NIE-trained, charge the most.
| Tutor type | Lower primary (P1–P3/P4) | Upper primary (P4/P5–P6) |
|---|---|---|
| Part-time tutor | $25–$35/h | $30–$40/h |
| Full-time tutor | $35–$50/h | $40–$55/h |
| Ex/current MOE teacher | $50–$80/h | $60–$90/h |
These bands combine published guides from the agencies above. Start Tuition’s own table, last updated September 2026, lists $65–$80 an hour for MOE teachers at P5 and P6. Peak exam months and longer travel can push quotes higher.
A weekly 1.5-hour lesson with a full-time tutor at $50 an hour comes to about $300 a month for one subject. Most primary lessons last 1.5 to 2 hours.
What Does an Agency’s “Free Matching” Service Mean for Payments?
“Free” means parents pay no extra fee on top of lesson fees. The agency still takes a commission, and parents often hand it over directly.
At Tutor City, the commission equals 50% of the first month’s fees, charged to the tutor but collected from the client. In practice, the tutor receives half pay for the first month while the parent pays the agency. SmileTutor and MindFlex add 9% GST on their commission, which is a small one-off extra.
Cancellation rules also carry costs. Tutor City charges 50% of a lesson fee if parents cancel with less than four hours’ notice. Short courses of 12 lessons or fewer may carry a commission charged to the parent.
Where Can Families Find Lower-Cost Academic Support?
Self-help groups run subsidised tuition for eligible families. CDAC runs a tuition programme at 40 locations with no fee for students meeting 2026 criteria, and SINDA charges $10 a year, waived for households with per capita income of $1,600 or less.
Yayasan MENDAKI offers its MENDAKI Achievement Programme for primary pupils. The Eurasian Association also runs academic support for its community. These programmes use group classes, so they suit children who learn comfortably alongside peers. Parents tracking wider school fees can fold these options into a yearly budget.
How Do You Choose an Agency and Tutor?

Parents should pick the agency with the clearest written terms, then pick the tutor whose experience matches the child’s level and subject. Database size says little about whether a specific tutor suits a P3 pupil struggling with problem sums.
Which Checks Matter Beyond a Large Tutor Database?
Every agency on this list claims tens of thousands of tutors. Only the handful sent for a specific request count. Parents get more value from checking each profile for:
- Years tutoring at the child’s exact level, such as P5 Science
- Verified certificates, or an agreement to show them at the first lesson
- Current school teachers’ passes, where the tutor claims MOE status
- The exact hourly rate written in the profile
- Commitment period, especially near the PSLE
Agencies disclaim profile accuracy in their terms, so the first-lesson certificate check falls to parents.
What Should You Ask About the Trial Lesson and Tutor Replacement?
Parents should assume the first lesson is paid unless told otherwise. MindFlex arranges trial lessons charged on a per-lesson basis, and families who stop afterwards pay for that lesson only. Tutor City’s terms state there are no free lessons.
Replacement is free at most agencies, though lessons already taught must be paid. FamilyTutor allows a replacement or cancellation at any time after the first lesson, and its terms suggest a three-month commitment when no period is set. Parents should ask whether a new tutor restarts the commission cycle.
How Can You Match a Tutor to Your Child’s Subject and Learning Needs?
Subject needs should shape the tutor type. Lower primary English or phonics often goes well with a patient part-time tutor. P5 and P6 math tuition, with its heuristics and PSLE-format problem sums, benefits from someone who knows the current MOE syllabus closely.
For science tuition, ask whether the tutor teaches answering technique for open-ended questions. For English tuition, check experience with composition and oral. Online tuition through Zoom widens the tutor pool for families in areas with fewer tutors nearby. A tutor who handles all four subjects can split one lesson, though specialists suit exam years better.
When Might a Tuition Centre Be a Better Fit?

A tuition centre suits children who work well in a structured class and families who want a lower hourly cost. Centres run their own curriculum and timetable, while agencies only arrange a private tutor.
How Does Small-Group Tuition Compare with One-to-One Lessons?
Group tuition costs less per hour. Centre fees run around $20–$60 an hour, and home tuition typically costs 20–30% more than centre-based lessons for a comparable tutor. Class sizes range from 4–6 pupils to 15–20.
One-to-one lessons let a tutor fix a specific gap, such as fractions or comprehension inference, at the child’s pace. Small-group tuition gives prepared worksheets and peer pacing, which motivates some children. A self-directed P4 pupil may thrive in a class, while a child who goes quiet in groups usually does better at home.
Which Primary-Level Centres Are Worth Comparing?
Several established tuition centres in Singapore run primary programmes. The Learning Lab and Mind Stretcher offer syllabus-based tuition classes for English, Maths and Science. Kumon uses worksheet-based self-paced study in Maths and English, suited to building drilling habits.
Smaller providers such as Lil’ but Mighty, focused on English, and EduFirst Learning Centre offer smaller classes. Parents comparing class sizes and fees can consult a wider list of the best tuition centres. A trial class before enrolling shows quickly whether the pace fits.
Finding the Right Tutor for Your Child
The best match comes from clear terms and a tutor who fits the child’s level, more than from the largest agency. Tutor City leads this list for its published rates and self-shortlisting. SmileTutor, MindFlex and FamilyTutor offer similar matching with different commission details.
Before confirming home tuition, parents should get these in writing:
- The tutor’s exact hourly rate and lesson length
- The commission amount, when it is paid, and to whom
- Whether the first lesson is charged
- How a change of tutor works and its cost
- The cancellation notice period
A sensible budget for primary school tuition starts at the part-time band for lower primary and moves up only where exam needs justify it. Families who prefer classes, or need subsidised academic support, can look at centres and CDAC, SINDA or MENDAKI programmes. More guidance for families sits under parenting resources.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are home tuition agencies in Singapore free for parents?
Matching is free, and parents pay only for lessons conducted. The agency takes a commission, often around half the first month’s fees, which parents usually pass to the agency before paying the tutor directly. Some agencies add GST on that commission.
How much should I pay a primary school home tutor per hour?
Most parents pay $25–$40 an hour for a part-time tutor and $35–$55 for a full-time tutor. Ex or current MOE teachers charge about $50–$90 an hour, with upper primary at the higher end.
Can I change tutors if the first match does not suit my child?
Yes, most agencies arrange a replacement at no extra charge. Parents still pay for lessons already taught. Tutor City’s parent FAQ confirms there is no contract to complete a set number of lessons.
Is home tuition or a tuition centre better for PSLE preparation?
Home tuition suits children with specific gaps who need close attention. A centre suits self-motivated pupils who benefit from timed practice in a group. Many families combine a centre for one subject with a home tutor for the weakest one.
Can my child have home tuition online instead?
Yes, most agencies on this list offer online lessons through Zoom or similar platforms. Online tuition widens tutor choice and removes travel time, though younger primary pupils often focus better in person.
